Australian Zoroastrian Association


About Us

Learn about the history of AZA and how we are helping people follow the path of spirituality and righteousness

The Story Of our Darbe-Mehr

The Australian Zoroastrian Association of New South Wales had its humble beginnings in the early 1970s when there were only a small number of Zoroastrians in Sydney; estimated to be less than 40.

The Australian Zoroastrian Association (AZA) of NSW was registered in Sydney under the Charitable Collections Act on 1st September 1971. At that time Zoroastrian families settled in Sydney met occasionally at each other’s houses for dinners. Individual family homes were used for social functions and committee meetings. The Association started its first newsletter in 1975. The first recorded discussion of a Sunday school is in a Newsletter dated 1 December 1976.

Initially, the objectives of the families to meet were social, but there was also a growing concern about passing down the heritage, culture and tradition of the Zoroastrian community to the younger generation. Therefore, there were early discussions for a congregation house and in 1978 the idea to have ‘a place of our own’ was conceived. The collection of funds for this purpose then commenced.

It was inevitably difficult to raise sufficient funds to buy the land and a suitable building. After many years of fundraising activities by the members as well as a substantial donation from Nawzer and Akhtar Ostowari, in 1985 the Association was able to purchase five acres of land with a house in Annangrove, New South Wales.

It was over the course of the following years which saw the development of the property into what is now the Darbe Meher we see today. Both, through the numerous hours of selfless voluntary work by our members as well as through further donations from our generous benefactors, namely, Arbab Rustom Banoo Morvarid Guiv Trust, as well as the Zarthosty Brothers Trust the Association’s property at Annangrove was developed and the Darbe Mehr was finally completed in July 1994.

The building was named Arbab Rustom & Morvarid Guiv Darbe Meher.

The selfless service and dedication of our Mobeds, Working Bee and various Committees (Seniors, Sunday School) throughout the history of the AZA helps to preserve the sanctity of the property and perform religious ceremonies for our community. AZA has flourished over the years through this collective contribution of our members. The AZA now has over 500 members. Today, the Australian Zoroastrian Association of NSW is an incorporated association under the Associations Incorporation Act of New South Wales. The much-loved Darbe Meher is a place where the community comes together to be part of social and religious gatherings, such as weddings, navjote ceremonies, Jashans and other Zoroastrian festivals. It is also the place where our younger generations come together every month for Sunday school as well as many social events and functions for our youth and senior members.

Our Donors and Supporters

Our donors form the backbone of our charitable work. This comes in many forms, time, money, energy and devotion to making our community stronger and better. By giving through service or donations, you are helping us build a stronger community.

We acknowledge the donors who played a key role in the building and maintenance of our lovely Darbe Meher, particularly

  • Community members including our Mobeds
  • Mr Nawzer and Mrs. Akhtar Ostowari
  • Arbab Rustom Banoo Morvarid Guiv Trust
  • Zarthosty Brothers
  • Mrs. Putli Johnston

In addition to this we acknowledge the tireless work performed by our countless volunteers.

Thank you very much for making us what we are today.

Mobed Services Directory

A Mobeds Services Directory has been curated for information on practicing Mobeds and how one can engage them for upcoming ceremonies. 

This directory lists all ceremonies that they are available for along with their contact details.

Please click here to view the directory.

Your Current Management Committee

Sarosh Batliwala


Farhad Malegam

Vice President

Julian Khursigara


profile picture 2

Viraf Hathiram


Zahan Madon

Committee Member


Committee Member